[News] Drake Emerges Top Promise Amongst 2011 Juno Award Nominees

March 15th is going to  be a busy night for Dizzy Drake. Not only will he hosting the 2011 Juno Awards, but he’s likely to be spending a lot of time receiving these highly coveted Canadian honors. During the Juno Nominations press conference today, it was announced the 24 year old Toronto representative is up for six awards (Juno Fan Choice Award, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, and Rap Recording of the Year). The next two top contenders are the country singer Johnny Reid and THE BEIBS, each with four nominations each.

Other nominees include Classified, KD Lang, Hedley, Young Artists for Haiti (“Wavin’ Flag”), Arcade Fire, Neil Young, Sarah McLachlan, Broken Social Scene, Three Days Grace, Caribou, Basia Bulat, Owen Pallett, Tokyo Police Club, Karkwa, Anton Kuerti, Gryphon Trio (<3), D-Sisive, Ghettosocks, Shad, and more.

There are a couple neat editions this year that are direct affects of how the internet and technology has shaped how music is consumed and made. First, there will be facebook voting for the fan choice awards, and second, for the first time in the history of the Junos, there will be an “Electronic Album of the Year” category.

Juno Fan Choice Award (Presented by Live Nation)
Johnny Reid
Justin Bieber
Michael Buble

Single of the Year
Classified – “Oh Canada”
Drake – “Find Your Love”
Hedley – “Perfect”
kd lang – “Hallelujah Vancouver Winter 2010”
Young Artists for Haiti – “Wavin’ Flag”

International Album of the Year
Eminem – Recovery
Katy Perry – Teenage Dream
Ke$ha – Animal
Lady Antebellum – Need You Now
Taylor Swift – Speak Now

Album of the Year (Sponsored by Canadian Recording Industry Association)
Arcade Fire – The Suburbs
Drake – Thank Me Later
Hedley – The Show Must Go On
Johnny Reid – A Place Called Love
Justin Bieber – My World 2.0

Artist of the Year
Johnny Reid
Justin Bieber
Neil Young
Sarah McLachlan

Group Of The Year
Arcade Fire
Broken Social Scene
Down With Webster
Great Big Sea
Three Days Grace

New Artist of the Year
Basia Bulat
Bobby Bazini
Hannah Georgas
Meaghan Smith

Songwriter of the Year
Arcade Fire
Hannah Georgas
Royal Wood
Sarah McLachlan

Rap Recording of the Year
D-Sisive – Vaudeville
Drake – Thank Me Later
Eternia & MoSS – At Last
Ghettosocks – Treat of the Day
Shad – TSOL

Dance Recording of the Year
Chromeo – Business Casual
Deadmau5 – Sofi Needs a Ladder
Dragonette – Fixin’ To Thrill
Keshia Chante – Table Dancer
Mie Martina & Edward Maya – Stereo Love

R&B/Soul Recording of the Year
Karl Wolf – Nightlife
Keshia Chante – Test Drive
Quanteisha – Stars
Raghav ft. Kardinal Offishall – So Much
SILVER (aka Solitair) ft. Kardinal Offishall – Come True

Reggae Recording of the Year
Dubmatix – System Shakedown
Elaine Lil’Bit Shepherd – Likkle But Mi Tallawah
Lyndon John X (LJX) – Brighter Days
Tony Anthony – Million Chance
Tonya P – Don’t Want to Go

Electronic Album of the Year
Caribou – Swim
Chilly Gonzales – Ivory Tower
Crystal Castles – Crystal Castles (II)
Holy Fuck – Latin
Poirier – Running High

Check out the Juno website to see the other nominations.