[News] 2014 Polaris Music Prize Short List Announced featuring Shad and Drake


The 2014 Polaris Music Prize Short List that were revealed this morning in Toronto and our good friend Shad was nominated for a third time (2008, 2010, 2014). Shad joins the VERY short list of Arcade Fire, Owen Pallett, and Metric to be nominated for a third time. Drake is listed this year for Nothing Was The Same which some disagree with as Polaris is supposed to be supporting “indie” artists. Do you agree or disagree? Let me know in the comments section.

2014 Polaris Music Prize Short List
Arcade Fire — Reflektor
Basia Bulat — Tall Tall Shadow
Mac DeMarco — Salad Days
Drake — Nothing Was The Same
Jessy Lanza — Pull My Hair Back
Owen Pallett — In Conflict
Shad — Flying Colours
Tanya Tagaq — Animism
Timber Timbre — Hot Dreams

The 2014 winner will be determined by an 11-member Grand Jury during the Polaris Gala at The Carlu in Toronto on September 22. The Grand Jury will be selected from the larger pool of nearly 190 music journalists, broadcasters and music bloggers from across Canada who make up the Polaris jury.

The eligibility period for the 2014 Polaris Music Prize runs from June 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. The Polaris Music Prize awards $30,000 to the artist who creates the Canadian Album of the Year, judged solely on artistic merit, without consideration of genre or record sales. Last year’s winner was Godspeed You! Black Emperor for Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! Past winners include Feist (2012), Arcade Fire (2011), Karkwa (2010), Fucked Up (2009), Caribou (2008), Patrick Watson (2007) and Final Fantasy (2006).