The Come Up Show

[Audio] Flying Lotus: “Camera Day”

The Come Up Show

Mark your calendars.

It is exactly fourteen days until September 21st, the scheduled release date for FlyLo’s New EP Pattern+Grid World via Warp.  This release will come between the recent Cosmogamma, and some future projects with Madlib and his  eclectic “Infinity” band known for venturing into post-bob wooze jazz, trip-hop, and drum n’ bass territory.

The foundation of “Camera Day” is a looped ascending synth-bass line over which sustained higher register pedal tones hover like thick fog. Sound motives weave their way in and out of the track, including a series of descending pitch slides (:47) and a variation on the bass line that flies around in oscillation up in the higher register.

All this over a pretty basic beat that chugs along steadily beneath the frequency forest. It sounds like walking around with Kodak film on mushrooms.


1. Clay
2. Kill Your Co-Workers
3. PieFace
4. Time Vampires
5. Jurassic Notion/M Theory
6. Camera Day
7. Physics For Everyone!

I’m buying it on Vinyl.

Flying Lotus – Camera Day (taken from Pattern+Grid World) by Warp Records

Continue Reading